Explore the orchestra website streaming resource for Ks2 & 3

Apr 21, 2021

Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra has an exciting new free 5-part online series of educational programmes exploring the different sections of the symphony orchestra, available to stream from our website on Saturdays beginning next Saturday 24th April. Here at Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra we work closely with the music hubs in the South and South West of England, and we are excited to share this widely and invite you to share the information and link with your schools and networks.

The concerts go live on Saturdays (from Saturday 24 April) but are available at all times after that to watch in lesson times. Schools or families just need to register, using the link at the bottom of the email. Feel free to use the copy below and JPG attached when circulating.


All students are invited to Explore the Orchestra this summer term, as Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra shares a brand-new online series of 5 free educational programmes showcasing each section of a symphony orchestra. Composer James Redwood shares works for Strings, Wind, Brass and Percussion in these interactive concerts which feature body percussion, analysis and a brand-new premiere.

Each week, from Saturday 24 April, a different musical work is introduced and culminates in a performance of the Finale from a specially-commissioned work, Explore the Orchestra, by James Redwood himself, using elements from the four other works. These concerts are aimed at KS2/KS3 students but are suitable for all ages. All concerts will be available for schools to watch on demand at any time after the original performance dates below and will remain on our website indefinitely.

Saturday 24 April: Meet the Brass
Saturday 1 May: Meet the Wind
Saturday 8 May: Meet the Strings
Saturday 15 May: Meet the Percussion
Saturday 22 May: Explore the Orchestra Finale
(Sign language versions are available)
All five concerts are free to watch but schools will be required to register your information in advance in order to receive the password to access them.
Visit the webpage here to register your details: https://bsolive.com/projects/explore-the-orchestra/.

Translate »